Search Penny Hill Press

Wednesday, June 19, 2013

Legislative Branch Agency Appointments: History, Processes, and Recent Proposals

Ida A. Brudnick Specialist on the Congress

The leaders of the legislative branch agencies and entities—the Government Accountability Office, the Library of Congress, the Congressional Research Service, the Government Printing Office, the Office of the Architect of the Capitol, the U.S. Capitol Police, the Congressional Budget Office, and the Office of Compliance—are appointed in a variety of manners.

Four agencies are led by a person appointed by the President, with the advice and consent of the Senate; two are appointed by Congress; one is appointed by the Librarian of Congress; one is appointed by a board of directors.

Congress has periodically examined the procedures used to appoint these officers with the aim of protecting the prerogatives of, and ensuring accountability to, Congress within the framework of the advice and consent appointment process established in Article II, Section 2 of the Constitution.

This report contains information on the legislative branch agency heads’ appointment processes, length of tenures (if terms are set), reappointment or removal provisions (if any), salaries and benefits, and most recent appointments.

Date of Report: June 12, 2013
Number of Pages: 12
Order Number: R42070
Price: $29.95

  To Order:

R42070.pdf   to use the SECURE SHOPPING CART


Phone 301-253-0881

For email and phone orders, provide a Visa, MasterCard, American Express, or Discover card number, expiration date, and name on the card. Indicate whether you want e-mail or postal delivery. Phone orders are preferred and receive priority processing.